Word Wednesday

Whilst on a summer getaway, I read Lena Dunham’s, Not That Kind Of Girl: A young woman tells you what she’ s”learned”. This book was released in Fall 2014, and has taken almost 2 years to finally pick it because 1 – by the time this book was out, I had seen Lena naked 3 too many times, and I grew tired of what I deemed as “trying to hard”; and 2 – what would I have to gain from reading this book.

As I made the final prep for my vaycay, I decided last minute to include another female voice on this trip, other than my own, and having just read Tina Fey’s Bossy Pants, I was in a Girl Power kind of spirit. I contemplated biographies, and Jane Eyre (which is on every feminists must read list), then stumbled on this bold cover of black and pink. Plus, it was on sale, $20 less the suggested hard cover price. What a  bargain.

Needless to say, it was delightful, heartfelt, and most importantly, I felt it was honest.
I would recommend it to those who would like a mini glimpse of a 20 something’s reflection on her life in the 90s and 2000s, and how privledge and money can bring opportunities, and adventure, but does not dismiss any overwhelming feelings and constant anxiety of the hopes and dread of finding yourself. She does this comically with a rawness that is her own.

I wouldn’t have said this two years ago… I think she and i could be friends.

Leave a Reply

